Device Registration

Device Registration Fees

DEVICE TYPE FEE FOR EACH STATE ADMIN FEE
Location Fee (CBPC-12240, CBPC-12246) $ 100.00 N/A
Animal Scale / Platform ( 100-2,000 lbs.) $ 50.00 $ 2.20
Class II Scale  $ 80.00 $ 2.20
Computing Scale $ 23.00 $ 2.20
Counter Scale / Hanging Scale $ 20.00 $ 2.20
Dormant Scale (heavy capacity - over 10,000 lbs.) $ 250.00 $ 24.00
Electric Sub-Meter $ 3.00 $ 0.50
Fabric/Cord/Wire Meter $ 20.00 $ 2.20
Heavy Platform Scale / Crane Scale (over 2,000 lbs.- under 10,000 lbs.) $ 150.00 $ 16.00
Kerosene Dispenser $ 20.00 $ 2.20
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Meter $ 185.00 $ 16.00
Livestock Scale (2,000-10,000 lbs.) $ 100.00 $ 16.00
Livestock Scale (> 10,000 lbs.) $ 150.00 $ 24.00
Miscellaneous Scale $ 20.00 $ 2.20
Retail Motor Fuel Meter $ 20.00 $ 2.20
Vapor Sub-Meter $ 4.00 $ 0.50
Vehicle Meter $ 75.00 $ 2.20
Vehicle Scale $ 250.00 $ 2.20
Wholesale Meter $ 75.00 $ 2.20

* Commercial device registration fees are based on a statewide fee structure approved by the State Legislature and signed in to law by the Governor. Annual fees are assessed for each device leased, owned, or operated by an individual or business. The registration fees are intended to partially offset the cost incurred by Weights and Measures in administering the commercial weighing and measuring device programs as well as providing inspection services for verification of net-content and labeling requirements regulated under the Quantity Control Program.

As defined under Business and Profession Code Section 12240, a business Location Fee of $100.00 is charged for each individual "business location". A Device Registration Fee and State Administrative Fee is charged for each device type owned and operated by a business.

The following fees are effective August 19, 2013 and are charged under authority granted by the California Business and Professions Code (B&P) and California Code of Regulations (CCR):

  • Device Fees: B&P, Division 5, Section 12240(f)-(t)
  • Location Fee: Section 12240(f)
  • State Administrative Fee: B&P Code Section 12241 and CCR Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 3, Article 3, Section 4075